What happens when an MD tells an RD (to be) to lose weight

September 21, 2010 at 2:11 pm 17 comments

Yes, that happened. To ME.  Just yesterday.

Listen folks, I’m gonna be totally transparent here. I’m no fool. I know my weight has crept up over the past year. I’m not going to make excuses (change in schedule, school, not working out as much, poor food choices under stress) because I was the one that put my health on the back burner.

But when a doctor tells me, a student of  NUTRITION, for crying out loud, that I’ve gained too much weight and I need to lose 10 pounds, well…that kinda sucks. I ain’t gonna lie.

I’ll be honest: For a brief second, I felt like a failure, a phony. How could someone who is deemed “overweight” able to dish out health and wellness advice to the world?

That lasted for approximately 3 seconds.

What kicked in instead was a feeling of peace. Yes, peace! That I’m really OK with the fact that I’ve gained weight over the past year. And just as I made poor decisions one too many times, I can make the right ones just as easily. I’m even excited to lose a few pounds through small changes (and NO, I am NOT going on a “ohmygodIhavetolose10poundsin2weeks” diet)

But what’s even better is that I still LOVE my body. I love every inch of it. OK, maybe not every inch, but close to it. I’ve never felt better naked, and the last time I weighed this much was after my Freshman 15 in college. And I sure as hell ain’t going to let some guy (read: my MD) dictate how I should feel about myself.

So, my lovelies, repeat after me: I LOVE MY BODY, no matter WHAT the scale says.

Now say: I will NEVER let ANYONE tell me how I should feel about myself.  This is MY body, MY life!

PS. Another reason why I wanted to be completely authentic with you is to show you that being healthy, even for someone who is immersed in the health/wellness world, takes work. If you don’t make your wellbeing a priority, all of a sudden you’ll be sitting in your doctor’s office with him telling you you’ve gained 11 pounds in 1 year. So, if it can happen to me, it can happen to anyone.

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

A bad case of the Mondays My MD and Me

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yummiee cupcake  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    omgosh! what a freaking jerk! i’d confront him and make him feel guilty for what he said to you. that was sooo uncalled for. totally unacceptable and unprofessional behavior at workplace! what a big a-hole!

    hope youre feeling better. dont let this jerk ruin you!!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      You know, it’s interesting, I didn;t even have that reaction. He was more concerned that I gained 11 pounds in the year and that there was something going on with my lifestyle. It didn’t even occur to me to change doctors. But perhaps I will!

      Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    I just saw you this summer, and I can say in all honesty – change doctors.

    I have gained a LOT of weight since meeting Julian seven years ago. My doctor is a very slim woman, and I voiced my concern to her about my weight gain (which, again, has been pretty incredible – it’s like I’m going into hibernation). She looked at my weight and said, “Yes, I can see you’ve gained weight, but you’re still very healthy. I would just try not to gain anymore from here.”

    Seriously. Change doctors.

    Reply
    • 4. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      Thanks lovey. And the good news is I’m perfectly healthy.
      perhaps I will change doctors…What I did love, however, was how he told me that I should just eat less, etc. I was like, HELLO, I’m a compulsive/emotional eater, it’s not that EASY! Friggin’ men.
      xoxo

      Reply
  • 5. Nour El-Zibdeh, RD  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I just love how some people think they have the right to tell anyone that they need to lose weight! The last thing you need is to feel miserable and guilty because that will not encourage you to get back on track… Good for you for not letting anyone make you feel bad about yourself!

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks, Nour! Good news is my other tests came out perfectly healthy. I replied earlier that he counseled me on weight loss like it was no big deal. I take it with a grain of salt. Thanks for your comment!

      Reply
  • 7. Jessie  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    You are fabulous, Amanda! Post-baby here, I have been beating myself up about not being able to bounce back into my cute little size six frocks and adorable Joe’s Jeans…but this makes me feel SO much better. Just yesterday I broke down and went to Nordstrom and bought NEW jeans that fit…and guess what, they look great and so do I…despite the extra 15 lbs I can’t seem to shake. I will do the same though, and try to make more healthful decisions. I feel great too, though! Shame on your doc…but as usual, you are awesome!

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks so much, Jessie! I too just went out and bought jeans that fit instead of cramming my ass into jeans that were too small. I just refuse to feel badly about myself. You gave birth to a BEAUTIFUL baby girl…your body made a miracle! Good for you for focusing on that rather than an insignificant label inside your jeans. You’ll get there eventually. Thanks so much for commenting!

      Reply
  • 9. Patti  |  September 21, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Hi, honey~ you know I think you’re THE BEST, & that you always exude good health, humor, sweetness, and beauty no matter what the scale says. Congrats to you ~sounds like you definitely have a handle on your attitude ( in 3 seconds yet…) about this upward trend this past year & are taking this news as a head’s up. My challenge, as many of my women friends also admit to) is being too self-critical. So bravo for painting a new picture for yourself & loving your image in the mirror!
    Love getting these posts daily now…

    Reply
    • 10. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Patti, thanks so much for responding. I really appreciate your beautiful words, as always. Ah, the self-critical monster…our own worst enemy. But imagine if we just told that broken record to “Shut the F up, i’m not listening to you anymore!” and recorded our own mental tapes. I’m working hard on that! So glad you’re following along…

      Reply
  • 11. Lauren Slayton  |  September 21, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Situations, like the one you described above, are the reason we need RD’s and RDs to be. The doctor looked at you as a number and gave his advice based on your numbers and numbers for pounds, calories or sodium do not help people. Perhaps a better question would be “what has been happening this year?” Or, “do you feel you’re taking good care of yourself?” Do you feel these questions may have been productive? In any event, great reaction. If you can impart that strength and confidence to your future clients you’re going to be a fantastic RD.

    Reply
    • 12. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm

      Lauren, thanks for your wonderful comments as usual, and your vote of confidence. Coming from you that means so much!
      And THAT is why we need RDs who are sensitive to our clients lifestyles…I agree that the conversation could have been way more productive if it had been more of a “counseling” session instead of him telling me that I should just “have less stress” in my life. Well, duh!!!

      Reply
  • 13. Janelle  |  September 21, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I didn’t realize 10 pounds was that noticeable on another. I am sure in your position, it’s a tough thing to be told. “Have less stress”… hmm… heck yah, sign me up for that, too! lol

    Reply
  • 14. Jennifer  |  September 21, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I am inspired by the way you are able to reconcile the desire to (maybe) lose a few pounds (you even say you are excited to do it) with your peace with and love for your current body. I would love to be able to feel both of those things concurrently, but it always seems that a desire to lose weight (which sometimes is–not necessarily in your case, but sometimes–necessary for better health) has to come at the cost of feelings of failure, weakness, or inadequacy.

    Whether or not you decide to try to lose a few pounds (and yes, isn’t it frustrating when people make it sound easy??), maintaining that attitude about yourself and your body is really what will keep you healthy in the long run. Bravo!

    Reply
  • 15. JackieFur  |  September 22, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Seriously ridiculous. Just highlights how out of touch some doctors can be! You are so incredibly healthy and active and beautiful.. Weight is just a number.

    Reply
  • 16. My MD and Me « Cake & Carrots  |  September 22, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    […] 22, 2010 Well, folks,  yesterday’s post generated the most comments in C&C […]

    Reply
  • 17. Abbey  |  September 22, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    You go girl! I am so proud of you. And, for the record, you have always been beautiful but you have never looked better!!! I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

