A bad case of the Mondays

September 20, 2010 at 12:34 pm 6 comments

If you’re a fan of the movie “Office Space” like I am, you’ll know the phrase: “Does someone have a bad case of the Mondays?” pretty well.  In fact, as it’s Monday today, people around the world are uttering those words right now.

Do you have a bad case of the Mondays? Are you tired from the weekend or not wanting to be in your job? Yeah, I understand. Me too, sometimes.

But for me, Mondays take on a different hue: I’m “back on” my “good” eating.

Does this sound like you? You eat “well” all week, go to the gym, feel good about your diet. Then then weekend comes along (I like to call it the WEAK-end) and you’re more relaxed, eating and drinking more, perhaps skipping a workout. And then before you know it again it’s Monday!  “Oh crap!” you say to yourself, “I totally blew the weekend with my diet! I’ve gotta get back into healthy eating again.”  And around and around it goes, until you’re trapped in the Mondays hamster wheel.

I thought you might know a thing or two about this.

So, what to do? Unfortunately the answer is deceptively simple: Don’t engage in WEAK-ends.

Meaning:

1. Continue listening to what your body wants. Don’t use the excuse “Well, heck, it’s Friday so I should have 7 drinks and pizza” because that’s what your conditioned to do. Listen to your body. Do you really WANT that?

2. Schedule in your workouts. And I mean in your calendar. With pen. Perhaps try hitting the gym first thing when you wake up to get it out of the way. Or, instead of your usual routine try something else: a new exercise class, a hike, or a long walk exploring your neighborhood (that’s my fave weekend workout)

3. Stock up the fridge on Thursday night. This is one I need to remind myself of, too. If you’re like me, you buy lots of groceries on Sunday night for the upcoming week, and by Friday, most of your food is gone, leaving you to rely on take-out, restaurants, and foods you wouldn’t normally consume (read=not as healthy). Why not make a trip to the supermarket on Thursday night so your fridge is stocked with all your favorite, healthy foods for the weekend?

4. Indulge more during the week. What the heck, Amanda? Yes, it’s true! If you’re trying to be too “good” and “perfect” with your eating during the week, not allowing yourself any treats, it’s no wonder you’re splurging during the weekend. Friends, my blog is called CAKE and carrots for a reason: there is room for both in your diet. If this scares you, start by adding one small treat during the week and see if that feels good to you, and if it makes any difference in the way you eat during the weekend. Perhaps a little dark chocolate is all you really need.

Do you have a case of the “Mondays” today?

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , .

Kiva.org-A Donation to Change Lives What happens when an MD tells an RD (to be) to lose weight

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JL Goes Vegan  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    #3 is a GREAT idea!

    Reply
  • 2. Janelle  |  September 21, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Oh, this sounds familiar to me, as well. I am working at changing my habits for the weekend, too. One thing I am doing is rewriting my weekend story. We will see how it goes! I also do a weigh in on Sundays so I am more apt to notice what I am eating on Fri night and Sat. course, my ultimate goal is to get to the point where I am naturally choosing health and wellness and not forcing myself into it. lol I am inspired by your blog! Janelle

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  September 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      Janelle, thanks so much for the comment. I think it’s so common with ALL of us..it’s so hard NOT to let go! Great idea to weigh yourself on Sunday to keep yourself accountable. Remember that our weight can fluctuate from 2-5 pounds each DAY due to fluid, so just use it as a guideline. Thanks for stopping by!!!

      Reply
  • 4. Jennifer  |  September 21, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I am definitely familiar with that hamster wheel that you describe. Every Monday is a new “opportunity” to “do it right.” I not only fall into the “weak-end” trap for the reasons you describe, but after an indulgent Friday night or Saturday, I tend to tell myself that since it’s the weekend and it’s so hard to eat well on weekends, I may as well wait until Monday…and so Sunday becomes another day when I don’t eat or exercise the way that would really keep me healthiest.

    I’ve been trying to start looking at every day as an opportunity to eat what really nourishes me and makes me feel and look my best, to combat that “weak-end” mindset, and it helps. I love your suggestion, especially #3…I often forget to shop ahead of the weekend, but maybe some strategic shopping (with some healthy indulgences planned in) would help me steer clear of the take-out and restaurants that sidetrack my healthy eating and my budget! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Angela Scott  |  October 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Hi Amanda
    GREAT BLOG! Who knew? Loved all of the information.
    I can’t wait to try the steel oats breakfast or the collards.
    THANK YOU!

    Reply
    • 6. Amanda  |  October 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      Angela,
      Thank you!!! You just made my day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

