You see? We’re SUPPOSED to eat chocolate!

August 12, 2010 at 1:48 pm 2 comments

"This is the time of the month that chocolate was created for"

This one is for the ladies (although men, you are more than welcome to read on!).

And this post is for the fabulous females that get those ridiculous cravings for chocolate about, oh, every 28 days or so. Sound like you?

I take it one step further…not only do I obsess about chocolate (more than usual), but I just want, want, want carbohydrates.  So, if this is a Universal symptom of PMS, what does it mean? I decided to investigate.

Here’s what I found:

Sugar cravings (and other carbo cravings) are really our body’s way of asking for fuel during this time in our cycle. Our desire for chocolate bon-bons is heightened because right before menstruation, certain hormone levels increase, increasing  our response to insulin (which brings sugar into our cells).  Thus our body can experience feelings of low blood sugar. SO our need to eat a bowl of pasta topped with chocolate chips is our brain’s way of screaming for quick fuel! See…it’s not your fault.

So, what can you do? Certainly you can indulge, as I do. However, in an effort to NOT go overboard, a diet rich in complex carbs (read: whole grains), veggies, fruits, beans, etc. will keep your brain going with a constant stream of fuel.

Hence, fewer blood sugar crashes lead to fewer chocolate bar wrappers.

Just as an aside, lately I’ve been learning all about my menstrual cycles, the physical changes my body experiences, and how my cycle affects my life in general. It is FASCINATING! I’m working with The Laughing Sage Wellness Center in NYC. Sign up for their newsletter, and/or read this article for an into!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Go Wild on your salmon! Bed-head breakfast advice

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate D  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Great post! I read your guest post on Honoring Health and decided to pop order to say hi.

    Two weekends ago I had a very sugary carby munchy weekend. I was all set to beat myself up about it, until I sat down and really thought about what happened. I concluded that for the first two and a half weeks in my cycle I;m just not that hungry. I can easily eat three meals without snacks in between. However, week three I’m hungry all the time and can’t seem to eat enough. Of course during this time I’m craving really sugary or carby foods. I concluded to keep an eye out on my cycle, and like you suggested, eat more complex carbs during this time.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one to feel this way!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      Hi Kate,
      Thanks so much for your comment! You certainly aren’t the only one to feel this way! I’ve started to track my cycle and it’s been incredibly eye opening. Also, check out the book “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.” A MUST MUST MUST read about our cycles!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

