Forget the calorie tracking App. I’ve found a WAY better one!

August 10, 2010 at 1:54 pm 2 comments

Screen shot from the app. No calories tracked here!

If you’re a reader of this blog or know me personally, you know that I don’t do the nasty “D” word anymore. Diet.

To celebrate my new iPhone 4, I went scouting for some new apps besides addictive games like Angry Birds and Bedazzled (both which have kept me occupied for countless hours).

Specifically, I was looking for a food journal app where I could log my meals because I notice I’ve been mindlessly eating, especially at night, but I was dismayed to find that every single app involved calorie tracking. Which I don’t do anymore.

I’ve done lots of online food journaling before, and I remember how one program would calculate how many calories I would have left in the day. If I went over, I got a big red angry face. If I went under, a big smiley face. Having my life ruled by emoticons was seriously troubling.

With a little more searching, I found this app:  Mindful Eating available on the iTunes store. I’ve been using it for a few days and I really like it.

Instead of focusing on the calories and fat grams in your meals, this nifty app is more concerned with how you FELT before, during, and after your meal…hence, mindful eating. It allows you to take a pic of your food, write little notes to yourself, and rewards you for eating healthy foods, too.

Yes, the price tag is a bit steep ($5.99) for an app, but for someone who no longer is ruled by calories and instead wants a more zen experience with her food, this one’s for me!

Do you keep a food journal? Have you done any online programs?

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , .

BPA-Free water bottles–which one for me? Go Wild on your salmon!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randy Rabney  |  August 10, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Sounds like a great deal to me. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. lisaou11  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    very cool app! I will have to check into it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

