No calories exist in Cape May

August 3, 2010 at 5:12 pm 2 comments

This is me after a pear martini and hopped up on Ben & Jerry's. Dangerous.

This past weekend, Matt and I celebrated the wedding of my college friend in Cape May, NJ. Holy crap, what a fabulous, relaxing, charming place. If you haven’t been before, I highly suggest it! We even took Gola with us, her first time to the beach…she dug like 20 holes to China in the sand.

So, before I left for Cape May on Friday, I decided that I would erase any nutritional knowledge I know, erase those damn calorie counts that I add up in my head, and take another look at fried food. Call it a human experiment.

SO what happened?

Well, I certainly ate with abandon. Frozen custard. Ice cream (twice in one day!). A breaded chicken sandwich (not my choice). Kettlecorn. Bread. Beers in the middle of the day. I tell you, I was a glutton.

And you know what? You would think I would’ve been in heaven, and at times I was (hot fudge? hello?) but truthfully I felt like crapola. My digestion was off. I craved vegetables like nothing else. I felt heavy. And then the negative self talk regarding my body started up again, which I haven’t experienced in quite some time. I was a train wreck.

So, not to sound like a broken record, it’s all about balance. Swing too far one way (ie. restriction diets) and you’ll eventually cave in and binge. But swing too far the other way (glutton and excess for a few days) and you’ll feel equally as bad. But this time I am craving whole foods and vegetables.

The trick with lasting weight loss and positive self image is finding that balance…eating a nutritious diet but enjoying your splurges. I didn’t listen to my body when it told me no more sweets, and I certainly am paying the price now (tighter pants, poor digestion, irritability).

How do you balance your diet?  Have you ever let go of your “diet” mentality and just given in to your cravings?

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , , .

Anatomy of a Damn Good Meal It’s a Pity Party—RSVP and BYOB!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randy Rabney  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I think that it’s great that you gave yourself the freedom to do that. I also think it’s fun to pay attention to when we are having cravings. Do they come up consistently after eating certain foods? Do they come up around stress? Do they come up after too much deprivation? Do they come up at a certain time of day? Is there a pattern or is it just random? To me that’s the first step in finding balance…what’s triggering the craving?

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Randy. I totally agree about paying attention when we have cravings. For instance, if I have to study for an exam or do work, I get intense food cravings for carbohydrates. It’s the stress talking! Also with too much deprivation for sure….and usually towards the end of the day (at night)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

