I heart my rice cooker

July 26, 2010 at 1:28 pm 2 comments

My latest kitchen gadget is my rice cooker.

In the past few months I’ve taken to making a boat load of grains on Sunday night for the week, making lunch preparation a snap. I take 1/2 cup of rice, toss in a multitude of veggies (I’m into steamed broccoli, lemon broccoli, steamed carrots, and collard greens), toss in some beans, drizzle with pesto or hummus and I’ve got an amazeballs lunch.

Anyway, back to the rice cooker…this baby makes all types of rice perfectly. I tried short grain rose brown rice. I threw in 2 cups, the right amount of water, pressed the button and forgot about it. Fifty minutes later…perfect rice! No more watching the pot!

This gizmo also cooks dry beans to perfection (I made adzuki beans last night) and also steams vegetables. It also does the laundry and tells you “I love you.” OK, obviously that’s not true, but it still rocks.

Lucky for me I got my version on sale for $60 at Bloomingdales…it’s a smaller 5 cup version, but I can’t ever picture myself making that much rice in one sitting.

And, I am very happy that I can tell Matt “I told you so!” as he thought I would NEVER use it. I TOLD YOU SO!

Perhaps a rice cooker is just what you need!

PS. Check out my new photos on the “About Me” page…courtesy of the incredible Sheila Williams

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Let It Go. See, don’t you feel better now? When you want it bad…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan Moore  |  July 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I need a rice cooker so hard! This one looks like the perfect size/price!

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  July 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm

      Megan, I got it last week at Bloomingdales for $59!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

