Avocado Smoothie

July 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm Leave a comment

I tried to think of a cute title to this post, but alas, they were all duds. So I’m keeping it simple.

Today we’re rapping ’bout…you guessed it…avocados in your smoothies.

I’m a huge fan of smoothies for breakfast, especially when it’s 80 degrees at 7am. I had a bunch of extra avocados on hand from making guacamole this weekend, and I thought I’d toss a little bit into my morning smoothie (instead of the almond butter).

The result: Heavenly. But I knew it would be because ANYTHING with avocados is God’s gift to us.

I added about 1/4 avocado and the result was a delicious, creamy, and satisfying meal. And you can’t taste the avocado, btw. Since I also added a bunch of kale, the drink was an olivey green color.

Today’s smoothie:

1/2 banana

ground flaxseed (I dont measure, I just dump in..about 3T)

1T flax/borage oil

bunch of kale

1/2 cup frozen blue berries (frozen from my farmer’s market)

1/2 cup frozen strawberries (Cascadian Farm’s organic)

1T Lucuma powder

2 scoops  rice protein (I use Metagenics)

drop of vanilla extract, dash of cinnamon

1 cup organic unsweetened almond milk

Throw it into my Vitamix and blend. I usually top off with raw cacao but I ran out today.

Drank it up at 8am and was full until 1:30! Now THAT’S a satisfying, healthy breakfast!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , .

The Devil Wears Red Velvet-Ode to Ladybird Bakery Dude, I just customized my own trailmix!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

