Roadtrippin’

June 14, 2010 at 1:46 pm 3 comments

An

I apologize in advance if this post makes little to no sense, as it’s Monday and I have a whopping 3 hours of sleep behind me. I just got back from the most fun and ridiculous (in all ways) roadtrip to Hershey, PA to see a Phish show. The title of our trip is now known as Biker Bars and Candy Bars. ‘Nuff said.  Believe me, the lack of sleep is WELL worth it (and you know that I’m a big proponant of adequate sleep. Sometimes having fun just trumps being responsible).

So, I’m on a roadtrip to the middle of Philadelphia, destination: an amusement park where funnel cakes are the healthiest food on the menu. What’s a health nut to do?

Pack your own food. Your friends might stare at you, laugh at you, call you funny names, but you’ll be getting the last laugh when the rest of your friends have indigestion and are running to the bathroom from eating a deep fried twinkie.

Before I left on the roadtrip, I went to the store and stocked up on healthy eats like whole grain chips, apples, dried mangos, organic popcorn, dark chocolate, etc.  I also had mini bags of granola that I threw in my purse to snack on inside the concert venue.  I didn’t eat all of it, but it made me feel better knowing it was there. And when I did eat out, I just found the healthiest option available to me. For example, lunch one day was an american grilled cheese sandwich on white bread. I would never eat that at home, but it was the best I could do. And then I moved on.

So my advice to you when you’re travelling, whether in a car or on a plane: prepare. My friends have dubbed me the “responsible” one of the group, and it’s because I don’t like to leave many things to chance. I’m the one that has 17 ponchos for my friends just in case it rains, and the keeper of the sunscreen.  If you care about your health and not falling victim to concert/amusement park/airplane food offerings, do yourself a favor and bring your own food.

This is not to say that I didn’t indulge in an ice cream sundae every day and eat lots of chocolate. I was in Hershey, after all (when in Rome). OK, and a bean burrito and PBJ sandwich in the lots at the Phish show.  But I did so because I wanted to, not because it was the only thing to eat.

What do you like to bring on road trips? Any tips or tricks to offer?

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , , .

Ultimate Wellbeing: Body, Mind & Spirit Showcase Telesummit A Night with Geneen Roth: Women Food and God

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carla Sidhu  |  June 14, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    I do the same thing! I take a sandwich bag full of almonds since they are easy to transport and share. I also refill my water bottle every time I leave the house. My new dried fruit is prunes….love they way they taste and tons of antioxidants.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  June 14, 2010 at 3:29 pm

      Awesome, Carla! Love prunes….so good. Almonds are a must have for me, too. I like adding some raw cacao nibs and raw coconut too and make my own trailmix. Happy travelling!

      Reply
  • 3. Ben  |  June 24, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    17 Ponchos!! Where were those last year?? 😉 But you did have nuts…to snack on that is. For the record, I havent even finished one of the giant peanut butter cups. But I feel good having purchased them. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

