Nutrition is…

May 3, 2010 at 12:19 am 2 comments

Happy Sunday!

I just had a thought I wanted to share. And yes, I am procrastinating.

I just had a lovely walk on a hot evening around my Brooklyn ‘nabe. People were out and about, happy in the warm evening weather. I was with my dog and my husband and all was good. Really good. We made a stop at an ice cream joint where  I got a delicious cappuccino chunk ice cream (kiddie size) in a sugar cone. We sat on a bench licking our cones (my goodness, that sounds naughty), people watching, and just relaxing.

And then this thought popped into my head: This is what nutrition is to me.

It’s not about the 200 calories that was in my ice cream. The fat grams and the sugar that by any nutritonal standards is deemed as “bad.” I’ve spent 15 years of my life thinking nutrition was all about fats, calories, protein, good vs bad foods. And the guilt. OH, the guilt.

But now, to me, nutrition is….enjoying a blissful night, surrounded by everything I love, eating a f$*cking ice cream cone. I’m completely satisfied, and my body is thanking me.

‘Nuff said.

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Cookin’ w/ myself Mmmmm, hummus

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patti McCabe  |  May 3, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Now that’s a thought most definitely worth sharing!! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Deanna  |  May 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Oh Yeah Baby! That is sooooo what “nutrition” is all about!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

