Hug a Tree–It’s Earth Day!

April 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm Leave a comment

I never saw a discontented tree.  They grip the ground as though they liked it, and though fast rooted they travel about as far as we do.  They go wandering forth in all directions with every wind, going and coming like ourselves, traveling with us around the sun two million miles a day, and through space heaven knows how fast and far! 

~John Muir

Taking a break from cholesterol today. While it’s important–very important–today we celebrate the beautiful earth we live on.

HAPPY EARTH DAY!

People who know me understand that I enjoy nature, and feel an enormous “pull” to big, beautiful trees. The Berkshires of Massachussetts is my move favoritist place in the world (besides Rancho La Puerta spa in Baja California). I got married under a huge tree and a glorious, cloudless blue sky. Matt gets tired of me pointing out the beautiful blooming trees around our neighborhood, but at least now he can tell the difference between a dogwood and a cherry blossom.

Anyway, since I’ve started walking my puppy, Gola, a few times a day, I’ve gotten to know these trees very well. I won’t lie and say that I’ve never teared up admiring their beauty, but it’s true. An overwheming sense of–“omg the world is SO magical” just floods through me.

So while I am not celebrating Earth Day by drinking eco-friendly drinks out of my Sigg bottle, per say,  I am using this day to remind me, once again, to take any opportunity to experience the calm that being in nature brings me. If you live in a big city, look up at notice the trees, and look down and see the tulips and lilacs planted.  In our hurry to get through the day, we plow right on past. Today, stop and smell the roses–literally.

Also, if you can, try watching a nature series like Planet Earth or the more recent Life…it gives you an amazing appreciation for our Mother Earth, and makes you feel teeny tiny.

And last, but certainly not least, try cutting out the processed foods today and eat only what our earth provides us. Score one more point for eating local produce. If that’s not an option today, make a plan to hit the farmer’s market this weekend to drool over the brilliant colors, tastes, and textures that come directly from the ground we walk on. And savor every minute of it.

So, friends, Happy Earth Day!

Entry filed under: nutrition.

High-Sugar Diet and Cholesterol–Linked! Do Eggs Raise Cholesterol?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

