Update: My Body is a Temple Practice

April 5, 2010 at 1:53 pm 2 comments

Last week, I wrote about the 40-day self-love practice  with one single focus:

My body is a TEMPLE.

So far, it been incredible for me.  I ask myself each morning what I need to make my body feel good…and then I actually follow through with  it. The first few days my body wanted to MOVE, so I used the stairs instead of the elevator and went for walks during the day. Another day my body wanted to eat “cleanly,” so I amped up my veggie intake.

Yesterday, my body wanted to go out and enjoy the day, and then REST…which is what I did, unapologetically. My body did not want to get up and cook dinner. She wanted to take a luxurious bath instead, so that’s what I did. Took a bath and ordered take-out. Sans guilt. It felt DREAMY.

My body is entering it’s 30th year on Friday (Happy Birthday to Me!). For 30 years, I’ve had a roller coaster relationship with my body. I’ve spent the past 10 years, specifically, revolting against her, wanting to change her, yet (obviously) never succeeding. I’ve been a size 0 and a size 10 and everything in between, yet never been happy with what God has given me.

That’s why this 40-day practice is so important and so inspiring. To say, “Thank you for sharing,” to those nasty thoughts and only entertain the positive, “Thank you. I love you,” thoughts is extremely empowering.

Here’s an example of a simple, yet profound, experience that I had on Friday: My temple needed new bras. The one’s that I had been wearing were old, ratty, and matronly. I decided this time to go to a professional for a bra fitting, and hallelujah, the results were incredible! Not only did I get pretty new bras, but I now wear the correct size (smaller back and larger cup size–hooray!). My “twins” are situated exactly where they are meant to and I feel damn good. I even splurged (OK, really splurged) on a gorgeous, colorful, frilly bra and underwear set for those days where I need a pick-me-up. After all, my temple is worth it.

Do you want to better your relationship with your body, obey it’s demands, and embark on this challenge with me?  Get the details here and join me!

P.S. I’ve said this before, but I wholeheartedly believe that health and wellness is a total-body process. Nutrition and healthy eating is only one piece of the puzzle. What’s the point of eating a nutritious diet if you’re filling yourself up with negative self-talk. Taking care of yourself: body, mind, and spirit, is necessary for total LIFE WELLNESS!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , .

April is National Donate Life Month You tell ME

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abbey  |  April 5, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Bravo! I am so proud of you!

    Reply
  • 2. Christine Arylo  |  April 6, 2010 at 4:37 am

    SO glad to have you with us on the self love adventure.. and here here to the temple no longer wearing ratty bras!! HURRAY!!!
    with heart
    Christine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

