Procrastination Station

February 20, 2010 at 1:45 pm Leave a comment

So, I’m sitting here (finally, the puppy is sleeping!) trying to get some studying done for a Chemistry exam on Thursday. Chemistry is my least favorite subject so far (my teacher is the head wackadoo of all teachers), and I could picture one billion things I’d rather be doing than studying right now.

Last semester I noticed that in order to put off doing my work, I’d grab some food. If I was snacking  I wouldn’t have to do my work, right? Right. Unfortunately, all that this habit left me was an extra 5 pounds and less sleep. I’ve been working hard at dismantling my triggers with food, but nothing brings out the habits like studying!

So, what just happened 5 minutes ago? I cracked open my Chem book, opened the computer, and then as if on auto-pilot, I went to the frige, got out a muffin, and brought it back into the office with me. Mid-bite, I stopped! I had a conversation in my head that went something like this:

“Amanda, are you hungry?”

“Um…..”

“Come on, tell me the truth. Are you hungry.”

“Not really.”

“So, why are you eating this muffin.”

“Because I don’t want to do work.”

“A-ha. That makes sense. You don’t want to do work so you’re eating instead. Is it helping?

“Well, not really, since I’m aware that I’m using food to procrastinate, and I know the work will be there when I finish.”

“Exactly. Why don’t you put the muffin down, and if you still want it AFTER some studying, by all means have it! But, this time you’ll put it on a plate and eat it at the kitchen table.”

“Sounds like a deal!”

There you go…a little glimpse into my psyche.  This happens ALL the time with me. I continually ask myself, “Am I hungry,” “Do you need to eat this,” and the most important, “WHAT DO YOU NEED RIGHT NOW?”

In this case, right now I need to get studying. But I know I’m exhausted from being up early with the dog 2 days in a row. I need rest, sleep, and yoga, which I will give myself later today.

I’m chuckling thinking about how this posting is just another form of procastination, but hey, at least it’s not a muffin!

Enjoy your weekend!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Very Important Nutrition Question Curvy Girls RULE!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

