Fashion Forward

February 17, 2010 at 3:04 pm 4 comments

What does the way you dress say about you? What message are you sending out to the world with the way you present yourself?

That’s a question that I discussed in my Total Immersion Intuitive Eating coaching class with the fabulous JoLaine Jones. When I was asked that question, “How do you think the world sees you?” I found it difficult to answer. I hadn’t really given it much thought!

I thought about how my style has changed over the past 10 years…from relaxed, hippie-vibed clothing in the beginning of college (OK, I still break it out for Phish shows), to the tight-formfitting leopard pants I pranced around in when I lost 25 pounds (man, I miss those), to being a label-whore in NYC right after college, to mastering business casual attire for work, and always my trusty “uniform” on the weekends of Lululemon pants and yoga gear.  I have had so many fashion changes I feel like Lady Gaga! (Luckily I never gave in to the Jersey Shore look…I don’t think I’d look so good with a Snooki pouf!)

The past year or so, I’ve really come into my own. I wear clothing that makes me feel GOOD, whether it be sweatpants, stretch pants, or jeans. I dress for comfort first, style next. What do I say to the world? I feel GOOD about myself, my body, and I’m confident.

So really think about it: How does what you wear (your makeup, accessories, clothing, etc) tell the world about you? And if it’s not the message you are satisfied with, how can you make changes? Perhaps blow dry your hair once a week, or try a little colored lip gloss next time you go out. Or my personal fave: Rock some high heels just to the store. Nothing makes you feel better!

The most important lesson I’ve learned as a fashion chameleon is to wear what you feel GOOD in, what speaks to you. Who cares what other people think! I’ve seen people walk around with a cat perched on their head (NO JOKE!), and you know what, it’s AWESOME.

For me, I’m a little more low key…it’s casual one day and luxe the next, but I always try to make myself feel gorgeous.

From the inside out, of course!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , .

Too Fat to Fly? (Update) Very Important Nutrition Question

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JoLaine  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Oh come on Amanda! You and Gola would look adorable with matching Snooki poufs!

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Ha! I think I could totally make Gola’s fur into a pouf. It’s long enough! I’ll try this weekend and take a pic! Matt let me buy bow clips for her hair and he’s not here this week, so….I’m gonna gussy up that pup!

    Reply
  • 3. Abbs  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I NEVER SAW these leopard pants you speak of, but I know I would LOVE them! HA! I think that speaks to the fact that I, unfortunately, went down the Snooki route.

    Just so you know, how you present yourself to me says “I am smart, fun, fashion-aware and loveable.” The other thing yoru clothes say is “I really want to move to Atlanta.” Just a hunch…

    Reply
  • 4. Amanda  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Abbs, they were from Bebe! Ahhh, remember those days?
    Love u!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

