Health at Every Size (Updated)

February 10, 2010 at 2:33 pm 4 comments

As many of you know, after 10 long years of dieting and trying to morph my body into something it, quite simply, is not, I’ve given up my pipe dream. Alas, I’m not going to grace the cover of Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition. I’m hard at work at Intuitive Eating, learning to trust my body, myself around food, and handle my emotions (rather than binge eating).

In my spare time, I’ve been reading every book I can get my hands on and joining every group, subscribing to every newsletter, about Intuitive Eating. Currently I’m enrolled in an 8-week program called Total Immersion Intuitive Eating with coach JoLaine Jones (don’t you just love that name?) of Genuine You Coaching, honing my self-love skills.

However, during my search,  I came across an incredible movement called Health at Every Size (HAES), started by author Linda Bacon, PhD. What is this movement? According to Bacon’s book, Health at Every Size: The Surprising Truth About Your Weight:

Let’s face facts. We’ve lost the war on obesity. Fighting fat hasn’t made the fat go away. And being thinner, even if we knew how to successfully accomplish it, will not necessarily make us healthier or happier. The war on obesity has taken its toll. Extensive “collateral damage” has resulted: Food and body preoccupation, self-hatred, eating disorders, discrimination, poor health… Few of us are at peace with our bodies, whether because we’re fat or because we fear becoming fat.

Health at Every Size is the new peace movement.

Very simply, it acknowledges that good health can best be realized independent from considerations of size. It supports people—of all sizes—in addressing health directly by adopting healthy behaviors.

The HAES movement encourages people of all sizes to improve their health through improving, and honoring, their relationship with their body. We should adopt a healthy lifestyle out of R-E-S-P-E-C-T for our body, not to be a number on a scale or a size tag inside our pants.

As someone who has struggled with body image, binge eating, and dieting for much of my young adulthood, this is something that truly resonates with me.

I encourage you to check out the HAES website, sign their pledge, join the community, and start taking steps to love yourself…and others…totally and completely.

UPDATE: I am honored that Linda Bacon PhD herself has commented on this post. Truly in awe! The correction she made is that the HAES movement has been in existence before Linda did her research and wrote her book, and she is just one of the many “freedom fighters,” as she calls herself and her colleagues, working to get the Health at Any Size Message out there. Thank you, Linda!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , , .

Vitamin D-Take More! Who’s the Biggest Loser now?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. flash  |  February 10, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    An interesting article.
    Several items there are of great assistance, thanks.

    Reply
  • 2. Linda Bacon  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks for the kind words. Glad to see my work has touched you! I did want to correct one thing you wrote: I didn’t start HAES. It was in existence long before I came around and starting doing research. But I’m proud to be one of the many freedom fighters spreading the word today. Readers can learn about the many others involved in HAES by following the link you provided above to the HAES Community Resources (www.HAESCommunity.Org).
    All best,
    Linda

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  February 10, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Linda,
      Thank you so much for your comments…I am truly honored and flattered that you commented on my post. Thank you for the clarification, and I have updated the post. I look forward to following your work and HAES. Here’s to spreading the love!

      Reply
  • 4. Linda Bacon  |  March 15, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I had the pleasure of wandering around your blog, Amanda, and wanted to give you one more alert. There’s a professional organization for people who are committed to HAES. Check it out: you’ll find plenty of support there for incorporating HAES into your work. It’s called the Association for Size Diversity and Health (www.sizediversityandhealth.org).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

