The Portion Teller Says…

February 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm 1 comment

I’m baaaaaaack! You miss me? Aw, shucks, I missed you too.

I want to thank my friends, Matt, and especially my mom for encouraging me to get back to blogging. Truth is, the end of the year was terribly overwhelming for me. I had a hellacious end to the semester, and then the holidays, yada yada. I’m now in a new semester, volunteering, AND the proud mama of a new puppy, so I’m just as busy, but in a different, and much better, way.  Truth is, I missed my interweb musings. Plus, one of my Top 10 goals for 2010 is to blog…so, here we are. Let’s get to it!

Today I am  inspired by one of my go-to blogs, Fooducate, about portion sizes. It seems as though the FDA is at work to standardize portion sizes listed on labels. Right on, FDA. As you may have experienced, understanding the serving size on a nutriton label can be confusing.

For example, let’s say you have a can of soup. The lable says serving size: 1 cup. Calories listed are 200. Great. However, if you look closer, you’ll then notice that there are 2.5 servings in that small can, bringing the total amount of calories to 500. Big difference? And what gets even more confusing is that a different brand of soup might say that the ENTIRE can of soup is one serving. See, there’s no standardization, and that’s what the FDA is looking to fix. Right on!

To illustrate the above, here is a great depiction from the New York Times.

So, when looking at nutrition labels, make sure to read the serving size first! If you want to have more than 1 serving, go for it, but at least be aware of what you’re eating!

Entry filed under: nutrition.

Mars, Venus, and Mindless Eating Vitamin D-Take More!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Abbs  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    so glad you’re back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

