Settle the score with your tummy

October 30, 2009 at 1:59 pm 5 comments

ailmentUpsetStomachPoor me. I have an upset tummy. And let me tell you, feeling bloated at 9:30 am is NOT a great feeling. How did I get this way? I ate too close before going to bed.  This past week I’ve been eating a light dinner (soup and yogurt) around 7pm, going to bed around 11, and then eating breakfast again at 7am. I wake up with an empty, flat belly, hungry for breakfast (lemon water first, though!)

Last night I came home late from a school party and just wanted to EAT (aka binge). Let’s see, what did I have at 10:30 at night: 2 eggs with hummus, peanut butter, switched over to almond butter, then back to peanut butter (organic, freshly made, mind you), prunes (not such a good idea) and then 2 bowls of cereal. With 2% milk. I have NO idea where that came from, as I haven’t had cereal in about a year. Granted, I was staying at my parents house and they have like NO food in their house, hence the above binge list.

So that’s what I ate literally right before bed. So I woke up this morning feeling just…disgusting. I did have breakfast, because it’s important to start your day off properly nourished. But I still feel gross.

My answer? Ginger.  I have a steaming hot cup of Lemon Ginger tea  that is spicy and delicious. For more than 2000 years in China, ginger has been used to treat an upset stomach. People use it to help ease motion sickness, nausea, and ease arthritis. If you don’t like the spiciness of ginger, try a few pieces of crystallized ginger candies (not too much, they’re usually coated with sugar!)

 If ginger is really not your thing, try peppermint. It has long been used to soothe an upset stomach or ease digestion. Peppermint calms the stomach muscles and improves the flow of bile (which the body uses to digest fats). As a result, food passes through your body more quickly. And if you’ve got bloating and gas, peppermint will ease that, too.  I love to have peppermint tea after a meal (I also find that it’s invigorating!) I usually keep peppermint pills in my desk when times get rough.

 But, like anything, listen to your body. If ginger or peppermint exacerbate the issue, please don’t continue taking it. But I truly recommend trying one of these natural remedies before reaching for the pepto-bismol or gas-x!

 Here’s an easy recipe to make your own ginger tea. It’s also a good choice if you’ve got a cold, or feeling sick, or just need to feel warm:

Ginger Tea Recipe

  • water, 4 cups
  • 2-inch piece of fresh ginger root
  • optional: honey and lemon slice

Peel the ginger root and slice it into thin slices. Bring the water to a boil in a saucepan. Once it is boiling, add the ginger. Cover it and reduce to a simmer for 15-20 minutes. Strain the tea. Add honey and lemon to taste.

Note: Keep in mind that if you are making ginger tea as a home remedy during cold and flu season, sweeteners are not recommended.

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: .

Thanks for Understanding Apples & Oranges

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lina  |  November 1, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Hey Amanda, hope you feel better! I hate those binge attacks when you just want to eat, those trigger my ibs hardcore but I just can’t stop myself. A trick I learned is to pick three really healthy high volume foods to eat before you go to your “binge craving”. Mine are a cup of nonfat greek yogurt, an apple and three cups of popcorn. All that food is only about 350 calories and it’s pretty tough to eat after all that food. Maybe its a tactic you might try?

    Reply
  • 2. Angela  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Cute article, I like it. Is there a way to follow your blog? Couldn’t find an RSS feed on the page.

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      Hi Angela,
      Thanks so much! I added an RSS feed…click on RSS Posts and you can follow in your reader! Thanks for visiting C&C!

      Reply
  • 4. Laura Lagano  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Ginger is awesome for dealing with a bellyache. Peppermint aggravates some people. You may want to consider that your bloating is from the high gluten content (cereal) of your late-night binge. It happens.

    Reply
    • 5. Amanda  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:42 pm

      Thanks Laura! Yes, you’re right, the bloating probably had to do with the cereal, and possibly the milk. Or all of it together!
      And thank you for the warning about peppermint.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

