Get your sleep on for more sexy-time

October 16, 2009 at 2:48 pm Leave a comment

Happy Friday, friends!

I can’t tell you HOW thrilled I am that this week is over. I had a HUGE anatomy exam last night, and I had been studying for that sucker for over a week. Every day, for over a week. That’s all I did (besides go to work, go to the gym, and eat).  So something had to suffer at the expense of my studying, and above all else, that something was sleep (precious sleep!)

I’m one of those people who needs at least 8 hours of sleep each night. I’ve never even pulled an all-nighter in college because I of the mess I’d be in the next day.  Unfortunately, since I’ve started Graduate school (for Clinical Nutrition), I have not been getting those much needed 8 hours. I’ve been going to bed later than ever (11-11:30 pm, sometimes midnight!) and I’m up at around 6am each morning. Day after day, it’s really taken it’s toll. I’m slower, I feel stupider (see what I mean?), and I’m just so dang tired all the time. Oh, yeah, and I noticed my balance is off and I’ve been bumping into a LOT of walls, I kid you not!

Luckily, my exam was last night and I went to bed at 9:57 pm and woke up at 6:30am. Now that’s more like it! I feel like ME again!

I’m sure that most of us don’t get enough sleep as we’d like. We do have responsibilities, like getting up for work or going to the gym or taking care of our children.  I know we’re not alone, because I see so many people passed out on the subway both in the morning and at night. Sadly, I was one of those people this week (I told Matt that I felt like the homeless people who use subway seats as their bed).

Anyway, now that I’ve caught up on sleep and feel a little bit more like me and less like a homeless person, I can truly say: GET SLEEP! Any way you can! If you’re not getting enough, and you are always exhausted, you need make a commitment to yourself to squeeze in some Z’s. Naps on the weekend. Getting to bed a little earlier. That’s why God created DVRs and IPhones–so we can watch our TV elsewhere! I can honestly say from experience that you’re probably no good to anyone, most of all yourself, if you’re exhausted all the time.

More importantly, according to Dr. Andrew Weil, new research suggests that getting a good night’s sleep improves relationship satisfaction and outlook the next day. Listen, if more sleep = more lovin’, well, heck, sign me up.

I urge you to take care of yourself! With the flu running rampant, you need your immune system in tip top shape. And besides a healthy diet and exercise, SLEEP is the best medicine you can give your body.

I’m looking forward to LOTS of napping this weekend…and maybe a little lovin’ (‘ello ‘ello)

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , .

Pesticide-Free, Please Thanks for Understanding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

