One.Big.Giant.Heart Attack.

October 6, 2009 at 4:13 pm 4 comments

Source: Daily News Oct 6

Source: Daily News Oct 6

Today I was planning on posting some of the latest developments in the “Battle of the Bulge” as people like to call our war against obesity  (For so many years, it was drugs…now it’s pounds we’re fighting against!)

I was all set to write the post (which will now come later in the week) but then I came across this horror in the Daily News today.

The “Craz-E-Burger”: a 1500 calorie arterie-clogger.  One beef patty. Loaded with cheese. Topped with bacon.  And if that wasn’t bad enough, it’s sandwiched in between 2!!! Krispy Creme donuts. I seriously just vomited in my mouth.

First, it sounds just nasty. I thought the McGriddle was gross (a sandwich in between french toast), but this has trumped that. According to the article, this bad boy is the “hot” thing at fairs popping up across the country. And people aren’t only eating it, they’re eating A LOT of it. And loving it.

Experts, food companies,  and politicians are racking their brains trying to find ways to get America slimmer.  What’s the point, I ask, of labeling the calories im a bottle of Coke when people are eating “food” like this? There’s something MUCH deeper going on here, and it’s really scary.   This makes deep-fried twinkies look as healthy as brocolli.

What we need is EDUCATION on proper nutrition. Stat! Before we have even more “Craz-E-Burger” induced heart attacks!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Egg-Spresso Yummy Baked Apples

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abbs  |  October 6, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    EEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. If only politicians really did care…MAYBE they’s actually try to do something!…maybe

    Reply
  • 2. Sheri  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:41 am

    I saw this article too. It’s absolutely disgusting! I live in NYC (I think you do too) and they now list the calorie count on most chain food places. For me, seeing how many calories are in a food item makes me think twice about eating it. I think it’s a good start in getting people to be more aware of how many calories they are consuming. I hope more cities follow NY’s example.

    Reply
  • 3. Yael  |  October 7, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Have you ever seen the website thisiswhyyourefat.com? It’s not for the weak of stomach, I warn you!

    Reply
  • 4. Yiska Obadia  |  October 12, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I’m nauseous just thinking about it! This makes me think though about how starving we must really be as a society. That we keep trying to up the ante on experiencing life powerfully with food because we aren’t living big enough in real life. How about trying to infuse “flavor” like that into the way we love, into the way we play, into the way we work. People are settling for ridiculous “foods” like these I believe because they are looking for a more satisfying experience of life. Let’s try going directly to it and see if the CRAZ-E-BURGER still has its appeal. I know I’ve lost my appetite!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

