Egg-Spresso

October 5, 2009 at 1:18 pm 4 comments

eggsHappy Monday! I hope that you had a wonderful weekend!

It felt like I didn’t even have a weekend, and I’m definitely suffering a little today. As part of my Food Production & Mgmt class, I have to complete 20 off-site hours in a kitchen. Because I have so much going on, I decided that I was going to bang out all 20 hours in 2 days. Crazy, yes. But it was a fantastic experience!  I worked at the Top of The Square catering kitchen at NYU (Aramark run). For 2 days, I helped with every aspect of the kitchen: baking 700 cookies, washing pounds and pounds of vegetables, helping make 1500 hors d’ouvres, plating desserts, lunches, and even serving. To say I was kept busy was an understatement, and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the atmosphere (Apparently I thrive in high-action, fast paced environments). And in the spirit of primary foods and taking care of myself, I treated myself to a massage, manicture, pedicure, and an incredible acupuncture treatment from my mom. Lucky me.

Anyway, this post is all about eggs. I love eggs. Called the “gold standard” of protein, eggs are a wonderful part of your diet.  Eggs are awesome, especially the beautiful ones I get at the farmer’s market. But sometimes I’m too lazy to take out a pan and go through the motions of scrambling them. It’s simple to make eggs, I know, but sometimes I just don’t want to cook. 

Enter: Egg-Spresso, which I lovingly call this cool dish. If you’re a reader of Hungry Girl you’ve seen this recipe, but I’ve only caught on to this now. So, how do you make an egg-spresso (named after a restaurant I frequented that puts eggs through a cappuccino maker, yielding a deliciously fluffy souffle of eggs)?

It’s this easy:

1. Crack 3 eggs (I like one yolk and 2 whites) into a microwave safe mug.

2. Beat the eggs a little bit with a fork to mix up the yolk.  If you want add anything else in, now’s the time to do it: sauteed onions, spinach (but this requires an extra step for us lazy people!), cheese, herbs, spices, etc.

3. Put the mug in the microwave and heat for about 90 seconds.

Voila! That’s it! If you look in the mug, you have a fabulous high-protein, good-for-you egg souffle. Seriously, people, this has completely changed my life. It’s breakfast with my oatmeal, lunch with a salad, or a healthy snack (add some hummus and yum!)  You can thank me later!

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , .

Looking back through the Detox Glass-Matt’s recap One.Big.Giant.Heart Attack.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abbs  |  October 5, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    HAVE to try this! You inspired me to walk myself over to the farmer’s market this weekend, pick up some root vegetables and cook!!! You’re amazing! Can’t wait to try this! I miss you!

    Reply
  • 2. Esmaa Self  |  October 10, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Well I never! I’ll have to try this. I assume one uses a mid-range power level, seeing eggs get rubbery when cooked with high heat. Thanks for passing on this recipe.

    Reply
    • 3. Amanda  |  October 12, 2009 at 7:56 pm

      Esmaa,
      Cool trick, right? I must say, the eggs do get a little rubbery if you overcook. I’ve had to play around with the microwave time, and stir the eggs half way, but I’m on my way to perfecting my “egg-spresso!”

      Reply
  • 4. More Eggspresso « Cake & carrots  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    […] I opened my Hungry Girl email this morning and it was all about the ‘Eggspresso! Remember my post about […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

