Looking back through the Detox Glass-Matt’s recap

October 1, 2009 at 11:13 am Leave a comment

Weak title, I know, but I wanted to come up with something since I’m now a few days out of the detox reflecting back on the experience.

A funny thing happened on the way to the detox. I lost 6.5 pounds. (This was me weighing myself AFTER breaking the fast for the holidays and coming home in the afternoon the next day and then weighing myself). That’s pretty crazy. I know a lot of this is water weight, but overall, i notice a huge change in myself.

Going through the detox was no picnic, and I found it very limiting in that I “felt” very constrained in what and when I could eat. Foods felt forbidden which is something never good to feel, but one of the things I realized along the way was how addicted to sugar I had become over the course of a few weeks. Having hurt my knees set me on a path to eating poorly, which made me unhappy, which caused a cycle that was eventually broken by the detox. Interestingly, Amanda asked me if I still craved my m&m’s (weapon of choice), and even 5 days into the detox I told her yes. That made me realize that I wasn’t just detoxing from the chemical dependency on the sugar, but on the behavioral aspect as well. It’s like when I used to smoke and after eating I would have a Pavlovian need to smoke a cigarette. And then when i quit, and i got over the nicotine addiction, I missed the physical action of having the cigarette stick. It’s the same with the m&m’s. I don’t miss them because they make me feel like crap, but I do miss eating them. Needless to say since coming off the detox I’ve stayed away.

It was definitely tough to come off the detox and go straight to breaking the fast. I had wanted to come off slowly, incorporating just one of the items I had taken off my list (sugar, dairy, gluten, alcohol), but of course I gave myself all three. I was surprised to see that I was actually ok, although it all wreaked havoc on my digestive tract.

All in all, I’m very glad I did the detox. It’s challenging, and I realize the value of keeping yourself busy during the process. I didn’t think I could do a week, but in the end it wasn’t bad and it made a huge impact. Since some of this weight was water I know that to keep it off I have to keep eating well and exercising, but it’s a great way to center yourself and get back on track.

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , .

Rooting for Fall Egg-Spresso

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

