Diary of Detoxers-Day 3

September 24, 2009 at 6:45 pm 1 comment

I’m holding up pretty well, as I am currently in day 3. My energy is increasing and I’m feeling good. There is nothing better than my warm soup in the evening and my sweet, fresh smoothie the next morning on an empty stomach.  I did cheat a little last night because I purchased THE BEST papaya ever (btw, papaya is a very detoxifying fruit) and as I was cutting it last evening after dinner, I ate a bunch of it standing up. I was not “supposed” to eat anything after the soup, but to hell with it. It was damn good papaya and I make the rules!

One strange phenomena is that I have a metallic taste in my mouth. I’ve gotten this before whenI eat massive amount of carbs, like in Italy when I eat pasta and pizza three times a day. I asked my mom (acupuncturist and holistic healer extraordinaire) what it might be, and she thought that perhaps it’s my body detoxing. Who knows.

Here’s Matt’s take:

I start the day with water and lemon. 

 

Breakfast. Same old smoothie. I do notice the bananas in the fridge and desperately want to sneak one in. But i’m already in this. For the first time ever, I gauge our frozen blueberry count in the house to make sure there’s enough for me. 

 

Feeling pretty good. A little spacy, but no complaints. For the first time in a while, I don’t feel ‘gross‘ although I’m noticing my body seems to be warmer than normal. I’m wondering if it’s part of me sweating out toxins or just that it’s hot in the apartment. 

 

Spend the morning doing errands. Cleaning up. trying to stay distracted. It’s time to head out for a bit. I eat a peach. By eat it i mean INHALE it. 

 

1pm. By the time I get back from errands i’m sweating profusely and feeling light headed. I make a salad with avocado and my salmon i made from last night. I think i made a bit too much b/c i can’t finish it. I want to, b/c it’s the most solid thing i get all day. Oh well.

 

130 pm. I’m downing the berry detox tea. I had made a giant batch of it last night and chilled it since when it’s 80 degrees outside it’s hard to keep drinking hot tea. Maybe it’s just me. 

 

 2:15pm. What is this awful taste in my mouth? I think it might be garlic. 

 

OK, i’m going to the U2 concert tonight. Everyone else will be drinking. Me? Not so much. Dinner is a smoothie from juice king since it’s too early to eat soup when i have to leave. 

 

I’m hanging in, but my body is just kind of tired. I pick up a packet of walnuts just in case. 

 

  1. Holy crap. Are we ever getting to the concert? i’m in Seacaucus and still waiting for the train. 

 

 

U2 concert is awesome, although I’m up MUCH later than i normally have been. this is making me tired, and hungry. I call Amanda and ask her if i can have a beer. “What do you think?” she tells me. I hang up and lower my head in shame. 

 

I get home at 1:15. I’m staying at my in-laws b/c i have to be somewhere at 10:15 tmw morning and don’t want to get home at 3am. Of course they have no smoothie ingredients (or a blender!) so i’ll be having just two TBs of Almond butter and then a smoothie after my workout. 

Entry filed under: nutrition.

Diary of Detoxers–Day 2 Entering Week 2 of Detox

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Abbs  |  September 25, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Why are bananas bad?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

