Diary of Detoxers–Day 2

September 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm 1 comment

Matt and I are on to day 3, but wanted to share with you Matt’s notes from yesterday. They’re pretty hilarious.  Yesterday went pretty well but there were a few low points when I was so irritable and grump (I feel badly for my coworkers!).  Whenever I felt a dip, I made a cup of warm herbal tea and that seemed to help.  I went to spin class last night, even though I was tired, and I felt great, although I noticed that I didn’t have as much energy as I usually do.  I fueled up afterwards with a mixed greens juice and butternut squash and carrot soup.

I am pleasantly surprised, however, that I haven’t been obsessed with the though of food, especially at night. I know my dinner is a delicious bowl of soup and then that’s it. It’s filling and I’m not preoccupied with what kind of sweet I want afterwards. It’s a nice mental break.

Here are Matt’s comments about yesterday:

Day 2:

Current weight: 172 pounds. (Keep in mind that i weighed myself in the morning whereas yesterday i weighed myself after breakfast.)

Current mind-frame: So far so good, but then again I just ate. 

 

I’m feeling good. I woke up and drank a cup of water with lemon in it which is making me feel better, and supposedly helps to flush out the toxins. About twenty minutes later I made my smoothie, same as yesterday, although once again without the agave to sweeten it. I will say that I didn’t realize how much sugar overpowers taste. It’s like it blocks your taste buds from noticing the nuances of anything else out there. 

 

I can’t tell right now if i’m suffering from sugar withdrawal, or psychologically I think I’m supposed to be suffering from sugar withdrawal. I don’t feel really any different than I normally do, in fact I feel kind of ‘bloated’ but I think that is because I drank more than a serving of my smoothie. 

 

Off to the coffee shop to do some work, let’s see how I hold up. 

 

11:45. Drinking ginger herbal iced tea. Hipster next to me has crust left from a tomato caprese sandwich. I literally want to rip his head off and steal his crumbs. 

 

12:15. Dude. Totally can’t concentrate. Am supposed to be working on my website and looking for leads and all i can do is drool in a pavlovian response to the guy next to me drinking a cappuccino. Let’s see how long I last. 

 

1:15. I’m still here, although I’ve done what feels like little work. My brain is definitely reacting oddly and I am having an inner dialogue on whether or not I can get through this. It’s no big deal. I’m going to leave here in about 10 minutes and head home and have a salad with leftover chicken. 

 

1:20. Amanda calls me and tells me the chicken we roasted is nasty. THis means no animal protein on my salad, and that I should put an egg on instead. 

 

Lunch consists of a salad with spinach, a hard boiled egg , 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 cup of quinoa, olive oil and balsamic. I also eat an egg white with some hummus. 

 

I’m hanging in. Drinking lots of water. 3pm. I make some tea. Amanda calls me to remind me to eat a snack. I’m not hungry. 

 

Suddenly…i’m hungry. Very hungry. Like, I could totally say screw this and order some pizza hungry. I fight it, and have a macintosh apple and some almond butter. That quells the hunger. 

 

I have a headache. I make some detox berry tea. At this point, I’m doing ok, although I still feel just as full or bloated as I normally do. I think this is because I’m downing too much water at one time. I’m peeing like sea-biscuit (like a racehorse_. 

 

It’s 7pm. Since I’ve just learned to cook and what not, I prepare some salmon that I bought for tmw’s lunch. Hopefully I won’t destroy it like i did a chicken. (I do great, salmon’s much much easier). 

 

Dinner. Butternut squash. Tastes good. got a bit of a headache which apparently is part of the sugar withdrawal. Is it bad that I’m looking forward to sleep so I can wake up and have a smoothie? 

 

One more thing we forgot to put in the regimen…garlic every day. I don’t know what it does, but we take a pill at night. Why? Because eating raw garlic is nasty. Of course, a nice side effect is garlic burps. Kind of like the fish burns from omega 3’s, but these are garlic. Maybe I should take together? 

 

Time for olive oil and then bed. 

Entry filed under: nutrition.

Diary of Detoxers-Day 1 & 2 Diary of Detoxers-Day 3

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sharla  |  September 24, 2009 at 12:42 am

    Hi! my name is Sharla and I’m on a 21 day detox. I really enjoy your blog, it gives me inspiration to know that there are others out there doing the same thing that I’m doing. I’m blogging also, @ http://myfalldetox.blogspot.com/ feel free to check it out and leave me a comment sometime.

    happy trails,

    sharla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

