Labor Day Weekend Nibble’s

September 4, 2009 at 2:33 pm 2 comments

I hope you enjoy a nice LONG weekend! I’m heading to Cape Cod for a wedding, and I couldn’t be more excited. I haven’t been to the Cape since I was a little girl. I’m also excited for the road trip we have ahead of us, and the 17 hour music mix that Matt has expertly crafted. Matt, I know, is excited to eat his weight in lobster rolls and fried seafood, as I lovingly watch and cheer him on.

Here are this week’s links:

The American Heart Association made a public announcement telling people to cut their sugar intake. YES! (Yours truly has been sugar free for over 2 months now!!!)

New York is targeting the beverage industry as major contributors of sugar to our diet. Have you seen these ads?

Another drawback to obesity: you get dumber!

Stick to whole foods, and ignore the ridiculous claims on packaged goods. It’s all about the marketing!

Some great tips on how to cut the sugar out of your life.

And some tips on how to cut 100 calories out of your diet. It all adds up!

Another reason to downward dog-yoga can help your eating!

Do you know your stomach? I mean, really know it? Take this fun quiz and find out!

I swear there is something in the water, as many of my friends have become pregnant recently. While I’m not ready yet, I can still prepare my body for pregnancy

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Are you a clean eater? Deep Fried Heart Attack

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellie  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Re: ridiculous claims on packaging. How about the sticker on my avocado that states “Cholesterol free food!” The irony is that cholesterol in foods has far less of an impact on blood cholesterol than saturated fat does. Half an avocado provides 10% of the daily recommended amount of saturated fat. A cup of guac? That’s 1/4 your daily amount. So, eat the avocado because it has lots of fiber and healthy monounsaturate fat and because it tastes good, not because it has no cholesterol.

    Reply
    • 2. Amanda  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:42 pm

      Here, here sistah. I had a bag of potato chips this weekend in in big letters it said “NO CHOLESTEROL PEANUT OIL.” Well, duh, peanuts don’t have cholesterol, and neither do potatoes. Friggin marketing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

