Are you a clean eater?

September 3, 2009 at 4:48 pm 1 comment

clean2At the end of last year I went through a complete magazine makeover. I subscribed to almost every magazine  pertaining to health and wellness (except for the ones for lady bodybuilders–no thanks!) Women’s Health, Shape, Self, Allure, In Style, Body & Soul, Alternative Health, Cooking Light, Eating Well, and Fitness. I received ALL of those. Every month. I was buried by a mountain of mags each month  I felt I needed to read them.

However, I noticed that all these magazines were doing something else besides taking up too much of my time  (not to mention reporting the same stories OVER and OVER). They were fueling my dissatisfaction with my body and my life. I was reading articles and tips about how to make your abs flatter,  “peel off” the pounds (I never understood that phrase!), have the best sex life ever, how simple it is to whip up meals in 30-min or less, or to just be plain ol happy.  What I realized, finally, was that I was constantly being reminded how I wasn’t ENOUGH, and that I needed an outside source to help me live a better life.  How could I be happy with my weight when I was bombarded with super fit models instructing me to work out MORE (I used to work out 6x/week).  I started feeling anxious that my life could be so much better if I only tried this tip, or bought that makeup. And since the magazines kept coming, it was a constant reminder how I could always do better, and be better.

After many months of this, I finally put myself on a “periodical” diet. I cancelled almost all the magazines that fueled this “not enough” feeling inside of me.  What I’m left with, each month, is the Oprah Magazine, Body & Soul, some magazines for dietitians, and Clean Eating.  What a turn around this has been for me! Not only do I have the time to savor each magazine, but I now feel empowered by what I am reading.  It’s enough.

One of my new favorite magazines is called Clean Eating.  According to the magazine, “The soul of clean eating is consuming food in its most natural state, or as close to it as possible. It is not a diet; it’s a lifestyle approach to food and its preparation, leading to an improved life-one meal at a time.” 

Now that’s something I can relate to!

The magazine offers tips on how to eat and “live clean.”  Take a look and see if you are a clean eater:

*Eat five to six times daily: three meals and 2-3 small snacks, including lean protein, fresh fruit, veggies, and complex carbs at each meal.  This keeps your body energized and birning calories efficiently all day long. (My note: I’m not 100% in agreement with this, since everyone is so different. Do what works for YOU!)

*Drink lots of water

*Get label savvy: Clean foods contain just 1 or 2 ingredients. Any product with a long ingredient list is man-made and not considered clean

*Avoid processed and refined foods: such as white flour, sugar, bread, and pasta. Enjoy complex carbs such as whole grains instead 

*Shop with a conscience: consume humanely raised and local meats

*Consume health fats (essential fatty acids) every day (Try omega-3 fish oils, heart-healthy avocado, olive oil, nuts and seeds)

*Learn about portion sizes  and work towards eating within them

*Reduce your carbon footprint: Eat produce that is in season and local.

*Slow down and savor: Never rush through a meal. Food tastes better when savored. Enjoy every bite.

*Take it to go: Pack a cooler for work our outings so you always have clean eats on the go

*Make it a family affair: Food is a social glue that should be shared with loved ones. Improve the quality of your family’s life along with your own.

Which magazines inspire YOU? How can you incorporate some of these clean living techniques into YOUR life?

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , , .

Transformative Nutrition Labor Day Weekend Nibble’s

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  September 7, 2009 at 2:25 am

    I love this Amanda. I am not sure I ever made the conscious effort to stop reading these “fitness/health” magazines. It just happened over time organically and I feel no desire to go back! Nicely written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

