Transformative Nutrition

September 2, 2009 at 4:06 pm Leave a comment

One of my most favorite people is offering a course on Transformative Nutrition in NYC this fall. Not only have I taken this course once…it was so life changing that I took it TWICE. Yiska, who leads the course, is an alternative healer, acupuncturist, and massage therapist. After a 70 pound!!! weight loss, she has dedicated herself to helping people understand and IMPROVE their relationship with food and eating.

Words cannot even begin to express how much the 9 week Transformative Nutrition class did for me.  In a supportive environment with other individuals, I explored thought patterns around food and eating, which ultimately helped me to reshape and develop better, healthier practices.  For example, one class we discussed “legalizing” food, and how we arrived to label food “good” and “bad” and what that was doing for us. I examined the guilt I felt after I consumed a chocolate chip cookie that I had deemed was “bad” for me. (but no longer!)

Did I lose weight? Yes. But that isn’t the goal…it’s a side effect of taking the class. What you will gain is personal development, techniques for self-care, and of course, tips for eating.  You and the class follow a brilliant workbook that is full of thought-provoking activities to help you reach your goals.  Through working with Yiska and familiarizing myself with my relationship with food, I ultimately decided that I wanted to do that exact thing with other people. Hence, here I am.

Below is the flyer for Yiska’s class, in the beautiful and Feng Shui appropriate Continuum Health Center (with THE most comfortable chairs ever!)  If you would like more infomation, check out their wonderful new website.

logo_header_red
Fall 2009

Transformative Nutrition
9 Week Course

with Yiska Obadia
 
NYC 

 

apple
Course Details 

DATES:October 13th-December 8th
9 Tuesdays


TIME: 7-9:00pm
 
COST: $495, includes a copy of the NEW workbook ($100 deposit due at registration)
Early registration by September 30th includes a private 1 hour coaching session during the course with Yiska, a $125 value.
 
LOCATION: The Continuum Center for Health and Healing
245 Fifth Avenue 
to register or learn more:
Contact Yiska at 914-450-6692 or email redefiningdiet@gmail.com 

 

If you or someone you know is ready to experience a new level of healing, transformation, and possibility in the realm of diet and nutrition, this is the course to make it happen.

 

Isn’t it time to make peace with food and your body?

 

This 9 week course is an interactive, supportive, holistic, empowering, and inspiring opportunity to learn the principles and practices that make a healthy relationship with food and sustainable weight-loss possible. This experiential course engages the body, mind, and spirit in a process of self-discovery, and healing through movement, meditation, visualizations, writing exercises, eating and speaking in a supportive group environment.

 

In 9 sessions participants will…

 

 

  • explore and challenge current relationships to food, body, and self
  • clear blocks to weight-loss and healthy eating
  • learn to eat more mindfully
  • better understand cravings
  • increase awareness and confidence in making food choices
  • work towards achieving a desired weight in a context of self-love
  • & practice being nourished by food and life alike!

 

 

 

Participants have written…
“It is not often enough in life that we are able to meet a person as caring, loving and honest as Yiska. Taking her 9 week course has changed my life in so many ways. It gave me so many tools that I will use every day for the rest of my life. I am not at battle with my eating. I feel my life has more control. I have taken off 12 pounds, but I never once felt I was on a diet. I have grown to truly love ME as a person. When you love yourself you really do not want to feed it poorly.”
 “One thing I took away was the idea of really slowing down and tasting food. Recently, I was on a train and I actually stopped talking on the phone, turned off my computer, shut off the I-pod, sat down and looked out the window and slowly ate my food….it was like eating a whole new plate of food. I ate a lot less and threw the rest of the food away…it was better than treating my body as a garbage can.” 
“Most helpful has been sharing with my new friends, having them understand what I have been going through my whole life.” 
“I got a new way of looking at myself and food. I learned to question my stories and to challenge myself to create my reality.”
  1. Start Immediately
  2. Do it Flamboyantly
  3. No Exceptions

  -William James

 

To Change One’s Life:

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , .

You Ask, I answer: What to eat when weight training Are you a clean eater?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

