Fun with vitamix

August 3, 2009 at 3:12 pm 5 comments

As a gift to myself for graduation the Institute of Integrative Nutrition, I bought myself a Vitamix blender.  This isn’t any ol’ blender.  Ohhhhh, no. This machine does EVERYTHING in minutes. This weekend alone I made fresh almond milk, peanut butter, smoothies galore, tomato sauce, and ice cream. And I ate all of it.

Here’s a video Matt put together of some of the fun we had yesterday with our new toy.

Entry filed under: nutrition.

Freak of nature Rawlicious “Blueberry Pie in the Sky”

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jordan  |  August 3, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    nice video! Vitamix’s are awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. Larie  |  August 4, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Fun video.
    I’m intrigued, although hubby may bristle at me purchasing another kitchen appliance. I was wondering if it was easy to clean?

    Reply
  • 3. Melinda  |  August 4, 2009 at 3:38 am

    You guys rock! I love the video. Promise to send some of my best recipes too!

    Reply
  • 4. ice cream freaks  |  August 4, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    The Vitamix is the best! I love to make ice cream and smoothies in mine. It only takes about 30 seconds to do and it’s often healthier than what you can buy. Congratulations on your graduation and have fun experimenting with your new toy.

    Larie,
    Yes, the vitamix is very easy to clean. All you do is fill it half full with warm or hot water and add a drop or two of dish soap, place the lid on and turn it on to high speed for 30 seconds or so. It becomes its own little dishwasher. Turn it off, dump out the soapy water in the sink, and rinse. Couldn’t be any easier than that.

    This isn’t just another kitchen appliance. You can do so many things with the vitamix that you can’t do with any other appliance. You won’t ever regret buying one.

    Reply
    • 5. Matthew  |  August 4, 2009 at 4:53 pm

      As Amanda’s husband, I’ll admit that I too was skeptical about this piece of equipment and didn’t understand what the big fuss was about. Granted, Amanda showed the same excitement for this as I do when i get a new computer or gizmo, but now I understand.
      It’s really great for making a million different things and as ice cream freaks replied, it’s really super easy to clean. MUCH MUCH easier than my old blender.

      In the past few days we’ve made smoothies, peanut butter, tomato soup, frozen yogurt, plus frozen tecchino and a frozen bailey’s shake. (I was bored yesterday and home early).

      It’s very cool and i’m excited to see what we can do next.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

