Coconut Hangover Cure

June 29, 2009 at 12:05 pm 5 comments

coconut-water**Please note that Matt wrote this on Sunday morning, NOT Monday morning. He did NOT have a bender on a Sunday night!**

Every time I have a long night out my mom always asks me if I’ve drank a “Prarier Oyster” to help relieve the pain. It’s more or less a bloody Mary, (Worcestershire Sauce, tomato juice, vinegar, egg yolk, vinegar and pepper) and it’s her supposed cure for a hangover. Well she doesn’t drink, but if she did that would be her cure.

 So of course that got me thinking about what people tend to do after a night out on the town, and it made me think about how common wisdom for most people is to indulge in a big bowl of bacon grease with eggs and cheese.

 Recently, I’ve found something better. Coconut Water.

 Seriously.

 Imagine drinking Gatorade without all the sugar. Without all the preservatives, and ingredients not occurring in nature (Seriously what the hell is red 40, and blue 1? And why is that the best name they could come up with for it? And how many reds are there?)

 Over the past month or so I’ve become an “ingredient whore” Before I eat anything, I check the label. As best I can, if I don’t recognize the ingredient or I can’t pronounce it, I don’t put it into my body. That’s why I was surprised to find something with so many health benefits that doesn’t have anything added to it all

 Pick up a container of Coconut Water (VitaCoco, Zico or O.N.E. are the most popular), and you’ll see that the only ingredient is coconut water. No added Sugars or preservatives. Nada. (They do sell some versions with flavors, which means more sugar, but I try and avoid those). It’s low calorie (60 per servings), and is choc full of potassium, something we all need. In fact it has more potassium than a banana. It also contains naturally occurring electrolytes, which your body always needs (like before and after workouts and especially when your body is dehydrated like after a night out of drinking).

 A quick Google search of coconut water listed these health benefits:

 *Potassium which helps regulate blood pressure, heart function and enhances the hydration process

 *Properties which promote smoother more hydrated skin

 *Raise your metabolism and promote health loss.

 *Boost your immune system.

 *Detoxify and fight viruses

 *Balance your PH and reduce risk of Cancer

 *Treat kidney and urethral stones.

 Ok, let’s not get so crazy to say it is a miracle drink, but I will say that it works wonders. And like most things that end up being a blessing, I resisted trying it first.

 When Amanda first brought home Coco Water I thought it tasted funny. I thought it was another one of her “health craze” things that no normal person would want to try. I was almost scared of it until one morning I woke up on a bleary-eyed Sunday, head bounding and cursing myself for those 1:30am Tequila shots (if it’s not Patron, it’s not worth it). Amanda tried getting me to drink water, but as anyone with a hangover knows, water is sometimes the last thing you want when your stomach’s queasy, and your whole body doesn’t really like you. Normally I would ask for Gatorade, but neither of us was in any shape to go outside and face the blind light of day. Amanda poured me a glass of coco water, told me to stop bitching, and made me drink it.

 And it wasn’t that bad. And the funny thing is…well it made me feel better. The electrolytes and the natural taste went down pretty well, in the same way drinking Gatorade does when you’re feeling dehydrated. Sure, it wasn’t a cure-all, but it did make me start to feel a lot better than I would’ve, and helped jump-start the process of getting my back to normal, which I think anyone with a hangover can attest, is the main goal.

 If you’re wondering why I’m spending so much time talking about a hangover, the truth is that I’m writing this behind the veil of an epic morning after. My brother and I started at 2pm for happy hour and finished about 8 hours later. I barely drink as it is, so let’s just say that a power night such as this is one my body doesn’t appreciate.

 It’s good to know that I know I have some remedies at my disposal for those times I go too far. Of course, one might say that the best way to avoid a hangover is not to drink yourself to excess, but I live in the real world and I know that we all need to go cut loose once in a while.

 In closing, here’s an article I found about various ways and old wives’ tales on how to cure a bad morning after.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Organic Debate Confessions of a Sugarholic

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abbey  |  June 29, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    This might be a really dumb question but how is coconut water different than coconut milk?

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  June 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    When you crack open a coconut, there is water inside the coconut. That is the coconut water, which Matt is referring to.
    Coconut MILK is milk made from the actual flesh of the coconut, which makes it creamy. And totally yummy!!! Lots of good (but saturated) fat–so use sparingly.

    Reply
    • 3. Brooke  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      What about coconut juice? I know it is not the same as water but it’s not milk either…

      Reply
      • 4. Amanda  |  July 2, 2009 at 4:12 pm

        I’ve never heard of coconut juice, but when I looked it up, it linked me to coconut water. So perhaps it’s just another name for coconut water?

  • 5. Booze 101 « Cake & Carrots  |  March 17, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    […] and for your nasty hangover tmw, Coconut Water is the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

