Neti virgin no longer!

June 15, 2009 at 1:29 am 2 comments

251107Such exciting happenings on a Sunday night, especially since I am doing anything but studying for an exam!

Prompted by my dear friend A’s question about neti pots last week, I decided to do some investigation and try one.  When Dr.Oz went on Oprah last year and told the audience to use a neti pot, these little suckers were gone from the shelves in a day. Luckily, some time has passed since then, Oprah’s viewers are on to her next big thing, and I am totally behind the trend and just trying one now.

I went to my local health food store to get this device that looks like a mini teapot. Mine is from the Himalayan Institute, called “Neti Wash” and is white with a pretty lotus leaf on it. And it’s made from natural bioplastic, so that’s a plus too. You can get these at regular drug stores, but I wanted a special one!

The claims on the box say: Soothes dry nasal passages; gently washes away dust, pollen, & irritants; and removes excess mucus…naturally. Ok, sounds good. You have to read the instructions on the proper way to use the contraption, because you pour warm salt water in one nostril and tilt your head just right so that it comes out the other nostril, taking debris and yuckiness with it.  It’s not difficult to master, but if you tilt your head incorrectly it comes out of your mouth (that was pretty weird). It’s an odd sensation, but sitting here five minutes after using it I feel like my nasal passages are completely open. I feel clear. Wow. This is neat…I’m going to try to do this every day this week and see if I notice more of a difference as time goes on.

If you suffer from allergies, sinus issues, or colds, or just want to have clean and clear nasal passages, I highly recommend it. If you were that kid who liked to take a piece of spaghetti and put it in your nostil and then make it come out of your mouth (I swear I was NOT that kid!) then this is for you, too.

Below is the ridiculously old school video on how to use a neti pot. Good luck and report back!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kitchen Un-Confidential Tussin’ for your body

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abbs  |  June 15, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Yeah! I tried my neti pot over the weekend and I LOVE it! My in-laws think Douglas and I are CRAZY but we don’t care…we love our neti pot!

    Reply
  • 2. Larie  |  June 28, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I first used the neti pot when I was pregnant last year. I didn’t want to take benadryl for my seasonal allergies. (It never worked for me anyway.) After many awkward attempts, I finally got the hang of it and it helped relieve my allergy symptoms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

