Some afternoon self-lovin

June 11, 2009 at 8:11 pm 1 comment

I keep a printout of a beautiful poem taped to the bottom of my computer. Whenever I’m feeling “meh” I just glance over and quickly get a dose of lovin. My mom and  I first saw a line from Swami Kripalu’s poem when we were at the New Age Health Spa, and I think it’s quite stunning:

My beloved child, break your heart no longer.
Each time you judge yourself, you break your own heart.
You stop feeding on the love, which is the wellspring of your vitality.
The time has come. Your time. To live. To celebrate,
and to see the goodness that you are…
Do not fight the dark. Just turn on the light.
Let go, and breathe into the goodness that you are.

Don’t you just love that line, “Each time you judge yourself, you break your own heart.” So incredibly powerful. 

This brings me to ask you: What do you keep around that inspires you at work?  Remember we spend most of our waking hours away from our home, so our work space can, and should be, a little sanctuary. At my desk/workspace, I have a laughing buddha card holder, Energy Mist to give me an afternoon boost, a feng shui jade/crystal tassel, tons of different teas, and a picture of Matt. And the raw chocolate, of course!  I’m surrounded by tokens that make me smile and feel good..which is essential at work.

How do you arrange your workspace? What can you bring from home that will make your desk feel more, well…homey, and bring you peace during the work day?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A case of the night time munchies Kitchen Un-Confidential

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

