Ooh baby I like it raw…chocolate.

June 10, 2009 at 6:03 pm Leave a comment

SimplicityI’m totally screwed. I have 3 bars of the most delicious chocolate in my desk drawer. Just sitting there, beckoning to me, taunting me. I just finished lunch and ate a tiny piece…so we’ll see if that tiny piece becomes multiple tiny pieces. And trust me, this is no ordinary chocolate. This is RAW chocolate that I ordered online from Gnosis Chocolate.  A few months ago, I had never even heard of raw chocolate. I was very content with my Green & Black’s 85% dark and my Mast Brothers. The creator of Gnosis, however, is an IIN alumni and she kindly gave the entire class of 1500 students samples of her special, raw chocolate. One bite and this chocolate freak was hooked! 

What makes raw chocolate….well, raw, is that the cacao is not heated above 114F,   so none of the good stuff is destroyed during heating and processing. So what you’re eating it totally healthy-it’s one of the top superfoods!  Raw cacao has over 300 chemical compounds that are incredible for your body. It has 2x the antioxidant content of red wine and 3x that of green tea. You can’t say that about Hersheys! Raw chocolate is dairy free, as dairy inhibits the benefits of antioxidants (so never put milk in green tea–squeeze in some lemon which actually enhances antioxidant absorption!) And raw chocolate also containts neurotransmitters like serotonin and dopamine, among others. I literally feel a little jolt of energy after eating this, AND it doesn’t upset my stomach or make me feel sick like other chocolates.

The ingredients to the bar I have in my desk reads (100% raw, 100% organic ingredients): cacao beans, cacao butter, agave nectar, goji berries, pau d’arco, cat’s claw, ashwaghanda, holy basil, reishi mushroom, crystal manna, blue-green algae, vanilla bean, Love.  Isn’t that awesome?

Still curious? Check out this article which will explain some more benefits of raw chocolate.

You can find raw chocolate at your local health food store, or just google it online. Besides Gnosis, another great one is Fine and Raw made in Brooklyn. I met the creator at the Brooklyn Flea market last summer and was blown away at the quality of his chocolate. Back then I didn’t realize what exactly I was eating, I just knew I loved it! I bought some which lasted approximately 4 hours in my house before I succombed to eating the entire box.   It might seem a bit much to pay $5 and upwards for a bar of chocolate, but hey, you can’t put a price on eating delicious, superfood chocolate and NOT feeling guilty about it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Innocent veggies not so innocent A case of the night time munchies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Twitter Feed

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

