As Oprah says, “Here we go….”

May 25, 2009 at 8:31 pm 2 comments

Picture 1Welcome to Cake and Carrots, where you will join me on my adventures in nutrition, health and wellness.  I am well aware of the plethora of blogs and websites dedicated to these topics (I think I receive at least 20 newsletters/day). But this one is different, I promise.

As a student of both traditional and holistic nutrition, I will be offering tips and advice and findings in BOTH fields, which I have found to be independent of one another. I am a lover of science, yet believe in the energy and chakras of the body. I love weight lifting and aerobic activity, but also meditation.

So, why start a blog? Because I am starting to get a bit stir crazy and I need a creative outlet—stat!  Currently, I am in graduate school at NYU in the Nutrition and Dietitics program. When I emerge 6 years down the road (I am going to school part time), I will be a Registered Dietitican (RD) and have my Masters of Science (MS). Yes, very fancy, I know.  In addition, I attend the Institute for Integrative Nutrition in New York City, and will graduate in July as a Certified Holistic Health Counselor, and a member of the AADP (American Association of Drugless Practioners).  I have also tried almost every diet out there, read ridiculous amounts of nutrition books, and know some pretty cool people in the industry (Look out for guest bloggers and interviews!) My goal, with all these credentials, is to help and educate people to become healthier, more confident and just lead better lives. We all want that. I know I do.

Because I am so busy with schools, homework, and a demanding day job, I am not taking on clients right now.  As a consequence, I am amassing incredible amounts of knowledge that I dish out to friends and family on a daily basis. Free of charge. So, I thought, why not share my education and passion (ok, and sometimes obsession) for healthy living with the entire world? The purpose of this blog is for you have a place to visit daily, learn something new every day, and share my adventures (I am warning you, it might get messy at times, especially as I find my “blogging voice.”)  I hope I can inspire you to ask questions, be curious about food and wellness, and motivate you to live your best life possible.

And why the name cake and carrots? For those who know me, I will never turn down something sweet. I love to indulge (And at times, overindulge). But I also love being healthy, feeling incredible through the food I eat and an active lifestyle. It’s all about balance. So we’ll find that together, and of course, have some fun.

Here we go….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What vitamins/supplements do I take?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michele  |  May 26, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I am sooo proud of you…but then this is soooo you!!
    Brilliantly written! so informative, and genuine just like you! Makes me want to check back daily to see what you have to say.

    Wishing you happy blogging!! will be passing around the good word around!! x m

    Reply
  • 2. Dana  |  May 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Very well done! Bravo and will stay tuned!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

