When the going gets tough…do nothing.

October 5, 2010 at 1:49 pm 2 comments

Or for me: When your head gets filled up with mucus, just relax.

Yesterday I took my first sick day in years. I went home early. I just had to. It was raining outside, I was feeling lousy, and I wasn’t getting any work done. Matt coerced me into leaving the office early to come home to rest. For the first time, I listened to his advice and did just that. And after waking up from a delicious nap with my dog, I’m glad I listened to him.

If you’re like me, you’re a go-go-go getter. You live your life flitting from one activity to the next and come home at the end of the day exclaiming, “What a long day!” That type of lifestyle can get addicting, like you want to see if you can top the day before. You would be amazed at how adept I am at squeezing in activities between other activities.

However, my cold forced me to diverge from that and to just go home and do nothing. I feel like a million bucks  now(well, almost a million) since I listened to my body and came home. So that got me to thinking: When life gets pull-out-your-hair-crazy, overwhelming, frustrating, or you just get sick, perhaps we’re just meant to slow down to the point of doing NOTHING.

Imagine that: Allowing our bodies and minds to recharge. Giving ourselves permission to stop what we’re doing (homework, making a big business decision, even exercising), flop on the sofa, and watch some really trashy TV. Or read a book. Just do nothing.

Our society tells us (and especially women) that we’re lazy and unmotivated if we’re not doing something every second. Well here’s something: Resting can be profound. Enlightening.

Try  it on…Next time you feel in the midst of overwhelm, resist the urge to do, fix, and be and just do nothing.

I hear there’s some America’s Next Top Model reruns on TV. You might want to start with those.

**Have you signed up for the FREE virtual Love Your Body Day Telesummit? No? Sign up here and get my free report, “10 Ways We Love Our Body Best.” By signing up you’ll get access to over 15 experts in the health and wellness fields, helping you to live your best, juiciest life possible. Can’t attend? No problem! Sign up anyway and you’ll get recordings of all the calls so you can listen on your own time.

Entry filed under: nutrition. Tags: , , .

At What Cost? Recipe: Steel Cut Oats w/ Apples & Toasted Walnuts

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patti  |  October 5, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Ah, very wise husband. Do nothing, breathe, be still, turn off phone….feel better! Bravo.

    Reply
  • 2. Abbey  |  October 7, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    You needed that!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Twitter Feed

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

